Login |  Register

Post subject: Jamming with the Stickman
PostPosted: 090329 05:31 
Legendary Overfiend
Legendary Overfiend
As a disclaimer, I wrote this post last night, but lost it when I inadvertently closed my browser. So this is a rewrite...

On Thursday, Stickman and I finally got together to jam a little like we'd been talking about doing. Stickman is a really cool guy who's a genius musician and is known for his talent on the Chapman Stick (hence his nickname), which is the supergenius's version of the guitar. I met him first at the old Open Stage as he would often show up to play the first slot after The Primatives opened. Now, he runs one of the two current Open Stages I regularly attend (The Primatives run the other one). Ever since I started playing Robin Trower songs at the "stages", Stickman's been talking about us playing it together sometime, as he's also a big Trower fan.

So on Thursday, he stopped by, dropped off a few pedals (Microvibe and Wah) to give me a convincing Robin Trower guitar tone, and we rehearsed Too Rolling Stoned, from the Bridge of Sighs album. The following day, Friday (yesterday), we performed it together at the Open Stage. The performance was a little bit sloppy compared to the rehearsal, I think, but that's to be expected, and besides, it sounded great and the audience loved it. Stickman was right in that the song sounded so much better with a fuller sound (Stickman played bass, and he also had a drum machine to back us up), compared to when I play it all by my lonesome.

The performance felt great. The Crunge aside, it was the first time I really felt like a rock star. I can't help thinking that that is the only thing I want in life. To play guitar in a rock (or blues) band. Nothing else really matters, because that's all I really wanna do. It just feels so great, and I really feel like it's my place; it's where I belong.